Iowa’s Top Teachers Honored

Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds and Iowa Department of Education Director Jason Glass will honor 13 teachers from across the state at a luncheon on Friday, October 28. Charity Campbell, the 2012 Iowa Teacher of the Year, will give the keynote speech.

Congratulations to Great Prairie AEA’s top teacher finalists Kim Walker from Lakeview Elementary School in Centerville and Deidra Franzen-Baker at Keota Junior/Senior High School in Keota.

Walker was among the finalists for the Iowa Preserve America History Teacher of the Year. The award recognizes outstanding American history teachers who possess a strong commitment to teaching American history and exhibit creativity and imagination in the classroom.

Franzen-Baker was among the finalists for the Iowa Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities and leaders in improving mathematics and science education. Since 1983, more than 4,100 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

View the official press release from the Iowa Department of Education.

Parent Connect Night! Mt. Pleasant & Albia Locations

Parent Connect Night! Where parents of young children with special needs can come together.

Looking for an opportunity to chat with Great Prairie AEA staff, talk with other parents with similar life events, and find out more about area resources? Then this is an evening just for you!

Plan now to attend Parent Connect Night:

October 27, 2011 in Mt. Pleasant at Van Allen Elementary from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

November 2, 2011 in Albia at the Albia AEA Office from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

**Featuring a coffee and cookie bar**

For more information please contact: Kelly Wallace at 319-385-9005 ext. 3034 or Annette Clarahan at 641-672-2546 ext. 5517